Twice judged to be Australia’s Best Travel Writer in the National Travel Industry Awards – in 2011 for a story on the Masai Mara, in Kenya, and in 2009 for a story on India.

Fiction winner, WA Premier’s Book Awards 2007, for the novel Other Country
These annual literary awards were inaugurated by the Western Australian Government in 1982 to honour and celebrate the literary achievements of Western Australian writers. 

Shortlisted for Commonwealth Writers’ Prize 2008, for the novel Other Country
Four international judging panels in each Commonwealth region (Africa, Canada and the Caribbean, Europe and South Asia, South East Asia and South Pacific) chose the shortlist from 320 entries from 52 countries.

Longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2009, for the novel Other Country
Nominations are submitted by libraries worldwide for works that have “made a lasting contribution to excellence in world literature”. 

International Cruise Council Australasia Media Awards 2009, for an article on cruising in Papua New Guinea.

United Nations Media Peace Award, for a magazine edition on multiculturalism, and consistent fairness in publishing. 1997.

World Association of Newspapers’ prestigious Young Reader Prize 2004, for the Passport to the World schools project. Awarded to Travel in The West Australian, under Stephen Scourfield’s editorship. 2004.

Travel in The West Australian won a newspaper of the year award in the Pacific Area Newspaper Publishers’ Association 2009. Under Stephen Scourfield’s editorship, it was awarded for technical excellence in the pre-print or supplement category.

Lifetime Achievement Award by Australia’s North West tourism region for more than 20 years of writing about the Kimberley and Pilbara regions of Western Australia. 2008.

Media category of the WA Tourism Awards. Awarded to Travel in The West Australian, under Stephen Scourfield’s editorship. 2006.

Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance AJA inaugural Travel Report Prize. 2003.

Sydney Freelance Journalists’ Group, Good Editor Award Finalist 2010.



Design by CCC    All Rights Reserved:  Stephen Scourfield Western-Australia